This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Crash in AVC encoding pass 1
Bug 
Hardware: Core i7-4770K, 16GB RAM
Hybrid: 2020.12.13.1

New Hybrid user still finding my way around.

This is my first attempt at trying to clean up some rough source material. Unfortunately it crashes early in the processing of the video.

Source file: makemkv rip of "James Taylor - Squibnocket (2006)" DVD
Source Issues: Flickering in the top ~6 lines of the frame, lots of grain (low light)

Processing with the default params I would use for a typical film DVD just reproduced the issues in the source, plus added a nasty judder in horizontal panning shots.

I added the following processing params:

X264
Bitrate: 2000
Tune: grain

Crop/Resize
Avisynth style: L=16, T=8, B=8, R=16

Filtering
Denoise: hqdn3D - slow, strong
Unsharpen: Strength=1.00, Radius=7x7
DeShake: (default settings when enabled)

Symptoms

Job crashes in pass 1 of the x264 transcode

Log only shows "exit code 0", but debug file mentions incorrect parameters to one of the filter stages.

Log file attached. [attachment=1236]
General comment: It's usually a bad idea to mix FFmpeg and Vapoursynth/Avisynth filtering.

Only visible error is:
x264 output: y4m [error]: bad sequence header magic
x264 [error]: could not open input file `-'
which usually means that something went wrong with the filtering/decoding.