Selur's Little Message Board
[HELP] Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Printable Version

+- Selur's Little Message Board (https://forum.selur.net)
+-- Forum: Hybrid - Support (https://forum.selur.net/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Problems & Questions (https://forum.selur.net/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: [HELP] Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load (/thread-3743.html)

Pages: 1 2


Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Miranda - 15.06.2024

I seem to be getting errors on the mod size - I've tried lots of different size combinations, but none will allow me to load the preview window. Any help? Smile


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Selur - 15.06.2024

Error is:
u n r e c o g n i z e d   t r a n s f e r   c h a r a c t e r i s t i c s   ( 5 / 0 / 0   = >   0 / 0 / 0 ) .   M a y   n e e d   t o   s p e c i f y   a d d i t i o n a l   c o l o r s p a c e   p a r a m e t e r s .
Strange, I expected:
# setting color transfer (709), if it is not set.
if validate.transferIsInvalid(clip):
  clip = core.std.SetFrameProps(clip=clip, _Transfer=1)
which calls:
def transferIsInvalid(clip: vs.VideoNode) -> bool:
  frame = clip.get_frame(0)
  value = frame.props.get('_Transfer', None)
  return value in [None, 0, 2, 3] or value not in vs.TransferCharacteristics.__members__.values()
to fix this.
=> If you can share a short sample of such a file, I can probably fix it.

Cu Selur


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Miranda - 15.06.2024

I just updated Hybrid, now I am seeing "Failed to Initialize VapourSynth Environment".

I will send a clip tomorrow.


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Selur - 15.06.2024

Make sure to uninstall Hybrid before installing the new version.


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Selur - 16.06.2024

Using your sample and trying to reproduce your problem, when using:
clip = core.resize.Bicubic(clip=clip, format=vs.YUV444P10, matrix_s="470bg", range_s="limited")
# removing grain using SMDegrain
clip = smdegrain.SMDegrain(input=clip, tr=1, interlaced=True, subpixel=3, dct=1, tff=True)
run into:
clip = smdegrain.SMDegrain(input=clip, tr=1, interlaced=True, subpixel=3, dct=1, tff=True)
This will take a while to figure out, since I might have to rewrite SMDegrain for that.

From the looks of it SMDegrain has problems filtering interlaced content.

Cu Selur


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Miranda - 16.06.2024

It is strange, I have used SMDegrain on several interlaced projects already, but this one is a problem.


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Selur - 16.06.2024

Think I fixed that.
In smdegrain.py, I changed:
# Input preparation for Interlacing
    if not interlaced:
        inputP = input
    else:
        inputP = input.std.SeparateFields(tff=tff)
to:
# Input preparation for Interlacing
    if not interlaced:
        inputP = input
    else:
        inputP = input.std.SeparateFields(tff=tff)
        h = h/2
this should fix the problem. (does here)
Extract the attached file and try replacing the smdegrain.py in your Hybrid/64bit/vsscripts-folder with the extracted file.

Cu Selur

Quote:It is strange, I have used SMDegrain on several interlaced projects already, but this one is a problem.
Before Hybrid deinterlaced automatically before applying SMDegrain, but since SMDegrain has a tff-option and should handle interlaced content I changed it a while ago to use not deinterlace before it, but depending on the settings SMDegrain seems to not work properly.


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Miranda - 16.06.2024

Thanks, trying it now. One thing I notice with the video file is when I change to square pixels it is 788 x 576. Is this correct, or should I force a generic PAR to get 768 x 576?

I am still getting the "Failed to Initialize VapourSynth Environment" error message,


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Selur - 16.06.2024

Quote:I am still getting the "Failed to Initialize VapourSynth Environment" error message,
Update to 2024.06.16.1

Cu Selur


RE: Upscale Error - Unable to get preview to load - Miranda - 16.06.2024

Is the modified smdegrain.py included in the update?