This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Odd performance issue in Parallels Desktop on Apple Silicon Mac
Hi everyone! I know I'm a newbie here but I've read the forum extensively over the last several months and have learned how to use Hybrid pretty well. I also know that Selur doesn't own a Mac, which is why the Mac version no longer exists (huge bummer, although I'd happily volunteer my Mac as tribute if I could!), and that means that if I want to run Hybrid, I have to do so with virtualization. I've tried CrossOver, VMWare Fusion, and Parallels Desktop and Parallels has been the most flawless of the 3 so far.

On my 27" 10-core Intel i9 iMac with 128GB RAM, running the latest release of Hybrid in Parallels in Windows 11 and with the Vapoursynth settings I'm using, I'm getting somewhere around 10 to 11 fps encoding to ProRes 422 with a specific test clip. However, on my 16" MacBook Pro with an M1 Max and 64GB memory, running Hybrid in Parallels in Windows 11 ARM and the exact same settings and test clip, I'm getting barely 3.5 fps.