Selur's Little Message Board
[HELP] Crash When Encoding DV AVI to x264? - Printable Version

+- Selur's Little Message Board (https://forum.selur.net)
+-- Forum: Hybrid - Support (https://forum.selur.net/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Problems & Questions (https://forum.selur.net/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: [HELP] Crash When Encoding DV AVI to x264? (/thread-1920.html)

Crash When Encoding DV AVI to x264? - zhammerle - 31.07.2021

Hello all, I'm still fairly new to Hybrid so please bear with me. I have successfully used Hybrid in the past to encode avi files from VirtualDub. In this case, I am trying to re-encode DV video in the form of avi files to convert them to mp4, and also to deinterlace. I have attached the debug output. Please let me know if there is anything else you need from me to help figure out this issue.

RE: Crash When Encoding DV AVI to x264? - Selur - 31.07.2021

Okay, seeing that you are using Windows 7 a few things. Smile
Windows 7 was dropped with 2021.01.31.1 (see: https://www.selur.de/changelog), but it might still work iirc. there are a few users that use Hybrid on Windows 7 with the latest version.

Here are a few things you can try:
  • check the Vapoursynth Preview and see whether it shows an error, let me know if it works or not.
    Since x264 reports ' y4m [error]: bad sequence header magic' it probably is a decoding problem.
    In case the decoding of the file fails:
    • Since you use DV and before used VirtualDub, you could try whether it helps to enable "Filtering->Vapoursynth->Misc->Source->Prefer AviSource for .avi input". This way Hybrid will look for a 64bit vfw dv codec on your system an in case there is one use that.
  • change 'Filtering->Support' to 'Avisynth' and try whether the preview works fine.