This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

[HELP] Crash When Encoding DV AVI to x264?
Hello all, I'm still fairly new to Hybrid so please bear with me. I have successfully used Hybrid in the past to encode avi files from VirtualDub. In this case, I am trying to re-encode DV video in the form of avi files to convert them to mp4, and also to deinterlace. I have attached the debug output. Please let me know if there is anything else you need from me to help figure out this issue.
Okay, seeing that you are using Windows 7 a few things. Smile
Windows 7 was dropped with 2021.01.31.1 (see: https://www.selur.de/changelog), but it might still work iirc. there are a few users that use Hybrid on Windows 7 with the latest version.

Here are a few things you can try:
  • check the Vapoursynth Preview and see whether it shows an error, let me know if it works or not.
    Since x264 reports ' y4m [error]: bad sequence header magic' it probably is a decoding problem.
    In case the decoding of the file fails:
    • Since you use DV and before used VirtualDub, you could try whether it helps to enable "Filtering->Vapoursynth->Misc->Source->Prefer AviSource for .avi input". This way Hybrid will look for a 64bit vfw dv codec on your system an in case there is one use that.
  • change 'Filtering->Support' to 'Avisynth' and try whether the preview works fine.