This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

[HELP] ProRes 422 HQ -> 8-Bit PNG -> x264 -> Problem with colors
Hi there,

i have a ProRes 422 HQ master that i have exported in a PNG 8-Bit image sequence. But as soon i choose Images as input in Hybrid and start the test encodes the picture itself gets darker than the original. The ProRes master is basing on a PAL DVD (BT.601 colour space) that i have deinterlaced with Hybrid / QTGMC, encoded as ProRes 422 HQ. I feed this master in VEAI and do the export as mentioned above. The PNGs itself looks good, but as soon i do the encode to x264 the problem with the levels occur. I tried some color space settings but i have no luck, maybe my noob knowledge is just to limited.

Can i avoid this level drop? When i export as ProRes 422 HQ out of VEAI and encode the result to x264 it works perfect and the picture is not altered.

Thank you and kindly regards!
Don't care about VEAI and since it's not open source or free that information does not help in any way.

My guess is:
You are probably not selecting the right values for 'Luma range' and 'Color matrix' that fit your input in the 'Image sequence selection' dialog.
Side note: bt.601 <> bt470bg and assuming you properly extracted the images the luma range should be limited since DVD content is limited range.

Cu Selur