Posts: 11
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2023
i seem to almost always get an error with hardware encoding + mpeg-4 visual files that they are unsupported
QSVEncC does not support 'mpeg-4 visual'.
Nvenc does not support 'mpeg-4 visual'.
it works in other encoders and it off and on works in hybrid, sometimes (very rarely) it will work and encode just fine but like like 95% of the time it tells me it is not supported.
Posts: 10.933
Threads: 56
Joined: May 2017
Last I checked, NVEncC and QSVEncC both did not support MPEG-4 ASP through hardware decoding.
You might be right, it might be supported now.
Seem like
They changed:
--avhw use libavformat + hw decode for input
from
--avhw hw decode for input
(in the help output of NVEncC&Co)
and I didn't notice that.
Documentation over at
https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/blob/mas....md#--avhw still lists only
MPEG1, MPEG2, H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC, VP9, AV1, VC-1 as compatible to '--avhw'
=> Will do some testing and report back.
Cu Selur
Posts: 11
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2023
thank you, i appreciate it, i was wondering if i had a setting wrong or a codec wasn't loading or something haha
Posts: 10.933
Threads: 56
Joined: May 2017
31.07.2024, 16:10
(This post was last modified: 31.07.2024, 16:13 by Selur.)
F:\Hybrid\64bit>NVEncC --avhw --avi -i "G:\TestClips&Co\files\test.avi" --fps 25.000 --codec av1 --sar 1:1 --lookahead 32 --output-depth 10 --vbr 0 --vbr-quality 23.00 --aq --aq-strength 5 --aq-temporal --gop-len 0 --ref 6 --multiref-l0 3 --multiref-l1 3 --bframes 3 --bref-mode auto --no-b-adapt --mv-precision Q-pel --preset quality --colorrange limited --colormatrix bt470bg --vpp-resize algo=auto --output-res 640x352 --vpp-gauss disabled --vpp-nlmeans sigma=0.005,h=0.05,patch=5,search=11,fp16=blockdiff --cuda-schedule sync --output "J:\tmp\test_new_1_2024-07-31@15_28_38_2110_01.av1"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
J:\tmp\test_new_1_2024-07-31@15_28_38_2110_01.av1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
avi: failed to decode avi file.
failed to initialize file reader(s).
Failed to open input file.
Fails here.
Okay, when I remove the "--avi", it works.
From the looks of it, hardware decoding of MPEG-4 ASP and other formats not mentioned in my previous post, still do not work, but NVEncC&Co switches to software decoding (then loads the raw data to the gpu) and allows using the hardware filtering options.
=> I created a new dev for testing where I disabled those job checks (and only add '--avi' when '--avhw' isn't used).
Uploaded it to the experimental-folder in my GoogeDrive.
Let me know whether that works for your files.
Cu Selur
Posts: 11
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2023
it works now, thank you
it does crash though if i use hardware encoding only but as long as that is not selected and i use the filtering tab it works fine even with hardware decoding selected and judging by the task manager it appears to actually be using hardware decoding in QSVEnC (mainly focusing on that currently due to AV1 support, AV1 seems to produce higher quality and less blocking/artifacting on any settings)
Posts: 10.933
Threads: 56
Joined: May 2017
31.07.2024, 16:53
(This post was last modified: 31.07.2024, 16:54 by Selur.)
Unless hardware encoding only is enabled, it should never have crashed,...
(since then the hardware decoder wasn't used)
Okay, just checked with QSVEncC there, the restriction still seems to apply.
=> I'll add the check back in for QSVEnc.
Cu Selur
Ps.: I can use both QSVEnc and NVEnc for av-1 encoding.
Posts: 11
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2023
yes it only crashes when hardware only is enabled otherwise it is all good and works fine, its working great on this end as long as hardware only is disabled
currently i only have a Tesla P4 + Intel Arc A310 in my server so my NvEnc max is hevc but the Arc card supports AV1
i have also been looking into trying to use CUDA VMAF + AB-AV1 with QSVEnC, i have used it for nvenc and svt-av1 as well as qsv 264-265 just to test, it would probably make a good auto-encoder addition to hybrid if there are no licensing issues, AB-AV1 takes the input file and just finds the right settings to use based on suggested minimum VMAF score of the result, i can't really seem to find any GUI's that support such an option currently
Posts: 10.933
Threads: 56
Joined: May 2017
Sorry, I'm not planning any auto encoding magic to Hybrid which does a few tests to hit a specific VMAF, PNSR, SSIM,... - score.
(+ I don't really like VMAF, since last I checked it was luma only and thus totally ignores color issues.
)
Cu Selur
Ps.: got a Geforce RTX 4080 and Intel Arc A380 here, bought the A380 back when I build my pc especially for the AV-1 encoding.